Webinar Series: Carbon Sequestration Leadership Forum
Part 1. CCUS in the United Arab Emirates: Status and Potential

Learn more and register for the webinar.

Date: Wednesday, 26 April 2017

Time:

  • 08:00 - 09:00 Eastern Daylight Time (GMT -4 hours)
  • 14:00 - 15:00 Central European Summer Time (GMT +2 hours)
  • 16:00 - 17:00 Gulf Standard Time (GMT +4 hours)
  • 20:00 - 21:00 China Standard Time (GMT +8 hours)
  • 21:00 - 22:00 Japan Standard Time (GMT +9 hours)
  • 22:00 - 23:00 Australian Eastern Standard Time (GMT +10 hours)

As part of the its commitment to raising awareness of CCS policies and technology, CSLF, with support from the Global CCS Institute, is running a series of webinars showcasing academics and researchers that are working on some of the most interesting CCS projects and developments from around the globe.

This first webinar comes to you from Abu Dhabi – the site of the Mid-Year CSLF Meeting and home of the Al Reyadah Carbon Capture, Utilization & Storage (CCUS) Project. The United Arab Emirates (UAE) is one of the world’s major oil exporters, with some of the highest levels of CO2 emissions per capita. These factors alone make this a very interesting region for the deployment of CCUS both as an option for reducing CO2 emissions, but also linking these operations for the purposes of enhanced oil recovery (EOR) operations.

In the UAE, CCUS has attracted leading academic institutes and technology developers to work on developing advanced technologies for reducing CO2 emissions. On Wednesday, 26th April, you have the opportunity to join the Masdar Institute’s Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering, Mohammad Abu Zahra to learn about the current status and potential for CCUS in the UAE.

Mohammad will present an overview of the current large scale CCUS demonstration project in the UAE, followed by a presentation and discussion of the ongoing research and development activities at the Masdar Institute.

This webinar offers a rare opportunity to put your questions directly to this experienced researcher and learn more about the fascinating advances being made at the Masdar Institute.

Learn more and register for the webinar.

April 26, 2017, online (webinar)